Michal Shaw
Michal Shaw
Assistant Vice President of Donor Relations & Director of WOSU
P (405) 385-5147
C (405) 747-0929

The Women for OSU annual spring symposium is a unique opportunity to gather in Stillwater and gain valuable knowledge about philanthropic decision making and leadership. Women for OSU celebrates members of the OSU family who display leadership in philanthropy by naming the Philanthropist of the Year and awarding scholarships to outstanding OSU students.

2020 Symposium Keynote Speaker

Thursday, April 23, 2020

Dr. Tererai Trent

Educator, motivational speaker and Oprah's "favorite guest of all-time"

Dr. Tererai Trent is one of the world’s most acclaimed voices for women’s empowerment and quality education. She is the founder of Tererai Trent International, an educator, motivational speaker, and Oprah’s “favorite guest of all time.” Tererai received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Oklahoma State University and her doctorate in interdisciplinary evaluation from Western Michigan University. She currently teaches courses in Global Health at Drexel University. She has published two highly acclaimed children’s books and is the author of the award winning, The Awakened Woman – Remembering & Reigniting Our Sacred Dreams (Atria/Enliven Books). Tererai was recently named Global Ambassador of Education and Peace by the UN General Secretary and High Commissioner. She also also serves as the president of The Awakened Woman LLC, a company dedicated to empowering women with tools to thrive as they achieve their dreams.

Rooted in humble beginnings, Tererai grew up in a cattle-herding family in rural Zimbabwe, in a country known as Rhodesia under colonial rule, where cultural practices and a war that liberated her country charted the course of her life. Despite facing many obstacles, she never lost sight of her dreams for an education. Dr. Trent could not have imagined that her steadfast determination, hard work and belief in her dreams would eventually not only earn her multiple degrees, but also a prominent global platform with world leaders and international businesses where she advocates for universal access to quality education.

Dr. Trent continues to lead the global charge in the fight for quality education for all children and for women’s rights. She has become a symbol of hope, and living proof that anything is possible. Her favorite motto is “Tinogona,” meaning, “It is achievable!”

Past Keynote Speakers


Amy Cuddy

Social psychologist and author


Marg Helgenberger



Joan Lunden

TV host, author and cancer survivor


Laura Bush

Former First Lady


Marlee Matlin

Academy Award-winner and activist


Jean Chatzky

Financial editor, author and TV host


Holly Robinson Peete

Actress, activist, author and philanthropist


Jennifer Buffett

Co-chair and president of the NoVo Foundation


Lisa Ling

Author, reporter and TV host


Nancy G. Brinker

Founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure


Jackie Joyner-Kersee

Six-time Olympic track and field medalist

View pictures from the 2019 Women for OSU Symposium event

2019 Women for OSU Symposium

2019 Symposium Sponsors


OSU College of Arts & Sciences


Sheryl Benbrook/Stock Exchange Bank
Robin Byford/Becky Steen
Amy Cline
Jan Cloyde
Suzie Crowder/Cindy Waits
Anne Greenwood
Leah Gungoll/Susan Jacques
Claudia Humphreys
Jami Longacre
Amy Mitchell
OSU Alumni Association
OSU Center for Health Sciences
OSU College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology
OSU Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
OSU Foundation
OSU President’s Office
OSU Spears School of Business
Jan Polk
Karen Stewart
Stinnett & Associates
Diane Tuttle


Bank of Oklahoma
Gail Muncrief
OSU College of Human Sciences
Jenelle Schatz
Julie Valentine
Peggy Welch


Donna Clack
Jennifer Grigsby
Jeanette Kern
Dr. Patricia Knaub
Julie Lambert
Retta Miller
OSU College of Education, Health and Aviation
OSU Division of Institutional Diversity
OSU Office of Academic Affairs
Gwen Shaw
Terry Slagle
Stillwater Medical Center
Typo Market
Leslie Woolley


If you are interested in sponsoring Women for OSU events, contact Mandy Heaps at

Regional Events

Women for OSU also hosts multiple regional events each year to connect women interested in philanthropy with Oklahoma State University. Women for OSU Council teams are currently planning regional events and programming to increase their outreach and improve the information currently available to women regarding philanthropy.

Regional events have been hosted all over the country, including events in the Dallas, Oklahoma City and Tulsa metropolitan areas, as well as in Los Angeles, and throughout Oklahoma.