Women for OSU Logo

The Women for OSU annual spring symposium is a unique opportunity to gather in Stillwater and gain valuable knowledge about philanthropic decision making and leadership. Women for OSU celebrates members of the OSU family who display leadership in philanthropy by naming the Philanthropist of the Year and awarding scholarships to outstanding OSU students.

Spring 2016 Symposium: Recap

It was a record-setting year for the 2016 Women for OSU Symposium.
The Symposium saw another sold-out crowd, with the largest number of attendees in our eight-year history. More than 2,500 people have attended a Women for OSU event.

Malinda Berry Fischer

Malinda Berry Fischer

We honored Malinda Berry Fischer as our 2016 Philanthropist of the Year.

She served on the OSU Foundation Board of Trustees from 1997-2007, including time as interim president and CEO (2004) and chairman of the board (2005). She also served on the Women for OSU Council from 2009-2011.

Fischer has given back to her alma mater in many other ways as well. She established the Thomas E. Berry Professorship in Water Research and Management and the Wise-Diggs-Berry Endowed Arts Faculty Award for teaching excellence in the arts. She is also a life member of the OSU Alumni Association. She is currently chair of the OSU Art Advisory Council and serves on the Performing Arts Advisory Board and the Doel Reed Center for the Arts committee.

Malinda Berry Fischer is a life-long supporter for Oklahoma State University. She is a champion for the arts and water research management at OSU. To learn more about the 2016 Women for OSU Philanthropist of the Year, click here.

Among her numerous other philanthropic efforts are serving on the boards of the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation and the Communities Foundation of Oklahoma.

She was recognized as an OSU Leadership Legacy in 2002 and a Distinguished Alumna in 2006. In 2012, she was inducted in the OSU Alumni Hall of Fame.

Learn more about the Philanthropist of the Year and see a listing of past recipients on our Philanthropist of the Year page.

We were also able to present nine scholarships to deserving OSU students, the most we have awarded yet. We also awarded a record $37,800 this year, bringing our total of $144,350 awarded to 39 recipients.

Learn more about this year’s scholarship recipients on our Scholarships page.

Laura Bush

Laura Bush

This year’s keynote speaker was former First Lady Laura Bush.

One of the most beloved and admired American First Ladies, for decades Laura Bush has championed key issues in the fields of education, health care and human rights. She has traveled to more than seventy-six countries, including two historic solo trips to Afghanistan, and has launched groundbreaking education and healthcare programs in the U.S. and abroad.

The author of the bestselling memoir, Spoken From The Heart, Mrs. Bush also founded both the Texas Book Festival and the National Book Festival in Washington D.C. Today, as the Chair of the Woman’s Initiative at the George W. Bush Institute, Mrs. Bush continues her work on global healthcare innovations, empowering women in emerging democracies, education reform, and supporting the men and women who have served in America’s military.

It was an exciting year for the Women for OSU. If you are looking to be involved or would like to become a sponsor for the 2017 Symposium, contact us at info@osugiving.com.

2016 Symposium Sponsors

Bank SNB (Stillwater National Bank)

Bank SNB

Brenda Alexander
Susan Jacques
Billie McKnight
OSU Foundation
Toni Pickens

Cathey Humphreys
Helen Newman Roche

Robin Byford/Becky Steen
Amy Cline
Jan Cloyde
Suzie Crowder
Georganna Dorney
Cindy Eimen/Gwen Shaw
Heather Ford/Trish Houston Prawl
Anne Greenwood
HRAD/NSCI (OSU College of Human Sciences)
Claudia Humphreys
Caroline Linehan
Jami Longacre
Lynn McElroy
Amy Mitchell
Connie Mitchell
OSU College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
OSU Library
OSU Office of the President
OSU Pi Phi Alumnae
Roxanne Pollard
Jennifer Poole
Beverly Schafer
Jenelle Schatz
Linda Shackelford
Thoma Foundation/Marilynn Thoma
Diane Tuttle
Cindy Waits
Connie Wiese

Marybeth Glass
Brandon Meyer
OSU Center for Health Sciences
OSU College of Human Sciences
OSU Master of International Agriculture Degree Programs
OSU Spears School of Business
Leslie Paris
Natalie Shirley & OSU-OKC
Sharon Trojan
Peggy Welch
Leslie Woolley

Judi Baker
Sheryl Benbrook/Stock Exchange Bank
Donna Clack
Cheryl Clerico
Fisher Provence Realtors/Grace Provence
Jennifer Grigsby
Johnel Harrison
Rhonda Hooper
Judy Hull
Jeanene Hulsey
Jeanette Kern
Pat Knaub
Retta Miller
OSU College of Education
OSU Office of Academic Affairs
OSU Student Affairs
Cindy Dunn Riesen

Past Symposium Keynote Speakers

2015 - Marlee Matlin, Academy Award-winner and activist2015
Marlee Matlin
Academy Award-winner and activist
2014 - Jean Chatzky, financial editor, author and TV host2014
Jean Chatzky
Financial editor, author and TV host
2013 - Holly Robinson Peete, actress, activist, author and philanthropist2013
Holly Robinson Peete
Actress, activist, author and philanthropist
2013 - Holly Robinson Peete, actress, activist, author and philanthropist2012
Jennifer Buffett
Co-chair and president of the NoVo Foundation
2011 - Lisa Ling, author and reporter2011
Lisa Ling
Author, reporter and TV host
2010 - Nancy G. Brinker, founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure2010
Nancy G. Brinker
Founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure
2009 - Jackie Joyner-Kersee, six-time Olympic track and field medalist2009
Jackie Joyner-Kersee
Six-time Olympic track and field medalist

To learn more about giving opportunities within Women for OSU, contact Michal Shaw.